SPE Aberdeen names award winners for 2016-17 session

Published:  07 September, 2017

More than 55 members of the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Aberdeen came together to celebrate the achievements of individuals within the Section.

The awards ceremony took place during Offshore Europe week, on Tuesday 5 September at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre. SPE International president Janeen Judah presented a host of North Sea Regional and SPE Aberdeen awards to those who have shown commitment to enhancing SPE activities over the last 12 months.

A highlight of the night was a commendation given to Colin Black, one of SPE Aberdeen’s directors, who is set to receive the SPE International Outstanding Service Award at the organisation’s Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition (ATCE) in San Antonio, Texas on 9-11 October, 2017.

In recent years, Colin has been instrumental in embedding the global Energy4Me programme into the Scottish education curriculum. Energy4Me aims to promote STEM subjects and educate the oil and gas industry’s next generation of aspiring engineers, scientists and managers. He also played a major role in bringing the highly successful ‘NASA in Aberdeen’ initiative to the city this year, as well as securing it for the next three years.

Further winners on the night included:

SPE Aberdeen Section Awards (pictured)

• Chris Stewart (Expro Group plc), services to the Young Professionals Committee

• Ritika Pawar (Intertek Group plc), services to the Student Development Committee

• Sylvester Ogfoba (Baker Hughes, a GE company), services to the Student Development Committee

• Kenny McAllister (Seal-Tite UK, LLC), services to the Programme Committee

• Mearns & Gill, long term service to the SPE Aberdeen Section

• Diane Wood (SPE Aberdeen Section Manager), long term service to the SPE Aberdeen Section

• Heriot Watt University, SPE Aberdeen Student Chapter Award (with University of Dundee highly commended)

SPE Regional Awards

• Steve Cromar (formerly ConocoPhillips, now retired), Regional Service Award for services to the SPE Aberdeen Section

• Richard Cooper (TauRx Therapeutics Ltd), Regional Young Member Outstanding Service Award

• Neil Armstrong (Merlin ERD Ltd), Drilling Engineering award

• Professor Eric Mackay (Heriot Watt University, Institute of Petroleum Engineering), Production and Operations Award

Ian Phillips, SPE Aberdeen chairman said: “Our board, volunteers and contractors are the driving force behind the Aberdeen Section, as well as many regional and global programmes, and they deserve great recognition for their efforts.

“The SPE Aberdeen Section has grown to become one of the most successful in the world, and for our volunteers to run our busy annual programme in tandem with their day jobs demonstrates just how committed they are.

“This evening has been a superb celebration of these efforts, and we are very proud to see many of our members recognised both locally and globally.”

Last issue

View the last issue here.

View the past issue archive here.